Greetings from an open-source baby

So it turned out that maybe I should have started my own topic instead of commenting on the pinned one. Let’s try this again!

Hi everyone! Super new to open source contributing in general but I’ve been looking into getting self-hosting forges (gitea specifically) since before I had a job within web-dev.

I’m self-taught through-and-through so I’m basically the worst collaborator ever, but I am also extremely open to criticism in terms of coding style and learning new stuff so feel free to enlighten me whenever there’s a chance. Basically the reason I’m here is because I don’t feel like I’m learning and contributing enough at my actual job so I want to go someplace where tech can maybe make peoples lives better?

I really want to contribute to something but also try out in the wild as time goes on, using my own server as a self-host (the reason I got it and setup my own forge is because LFS is tricky and expensive in the cloud), but it might take a moment for me to get up to speed with how everything works within these kinds of organizations and how to write good PRs etc. If anyone has super simple issues or feature requests that is basically all front-end then I’d be happy to try to help!

3 Likes

Hi Olof, welcome to forge friends! Contributing to open source is quite satisfying wherever you are engaged with, and you sure come with the right spirit. It doesn’t matter what one contributes, rather that one contributes, and in open source you do that on those things where your passion lies. Learn by doing, teach and be taught, and just have fun along the way :grinning_face_with_smiling_eyes: