My forgefriends development strategy 2022-2023

Bonjour,

It has been 18 months since forgefriends started, with a Python code base. A year ago the decision was made to move to Go instead and start from scratch, primarily to take advantage of the existing Gitea codebase. Although a Python forge exists (https://pagure.org), it is not actively maintained. Go is also better because it can be used as a library to implement Python or Ruby packages, which would help with the inclusion of forgefriends within existing forges. A year later I still think this was a good move, despite the time it took me to learn Go (and I’m still learning) and re-implement what already existed in the Python codebase.

Back then I did not know much about the Gitea project and after some observation and discussions with as many people as I could, the relationship between Gitea and forgefriends was set to be as follows:

• forgefriends is a long standing fork of Gitea
  • forgefriends is published as a docker image
  • continuous efforts are made to contribute every aspect of forgefriends to Gitea
  • only federation proxying remains in the forgefriends codebase because it is not in the Gitea scope

The first two are easy, the last two less so and a strategy was devised based on the following assumptions:

• Gitea is a community project led by volunteers and no company support
  • Given enough funding some of the current Gitea maintainers are willing to work on implementing some aspects of federation within the Gitea codebase
  • The current Gitea maintainers would be willing to review the architectural changes required to implement federation
  • Architectural changes could be implemented with baby steps over an extended period of time
  • The level of test coverage could be improved to guard the code contributed to Gitea against regressions
  • The communication with the Gitea owners and maintainers happens in a friendly and inclusive environment