GitHub censorship and exclusion

You may not use GitHub in violation of export control or sanctions laws of the United States or any other applicable jurisdiction. You may not use GitHub if you are or are working on behalf of a Specially Designated National (SDN) or a person subject to similar blocking or denied party prohibitions administered by a U.S. government agency. GitHub may allow persons in certain sanctioned countries or territories to access certain GitHub services pursuant to U.S. government authorizations. For more information, please see our Export Controls policy.

On which countries and territories are U.S. government sanctions applied?

Crimea, Cuba, Iran, North Korea, and Syria. With respect to Iran, however, GitHub now has a license from the U.S. Treasury Department’s Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) to provide cloud services to developers located or otherwise resident in that country. GitHub cloud services, both free and paid, are also generally available to developers located in Cuba.